Winter training

21 11 2009

It’s winter and it sucks. I’ve only managed to get out on my bike about twice in the last month and the gym just doesn’t quite cut it. My last outdoor ride was last Sunday, for a local Evans ride. Although the ride was good, the roads were shocking and it actually felt like I should have been on a mountain bike at times. The bike got filthy and so did I. It’s now raining like a mo fo, so there’s no chance I’m getting out today, but I’ll see what it’s like tomorrow.

Not wanting to totally trash my race bike this winter, I’ve taken two steps.

1. I’ve applied for a Ride 2 Work voucher to allow me to buy a new road bike for winter training (that should come through by mi December). I think I’ll end up getting a Specialized Allez of some degree but I’ll have to see. I need to get it from Evans, so it very much depends on what they stock.

2. I’ve just picked up my new turbo trainer – I opted for a Tacx flow, based on features, reviews and price. I’ll give my own review of the turbo shortly, as I’m about to do my first session on it whilst watching Scotland v Australia (Rugby Union). I live in a 2nd floor apartment, so hopefully the neighbours’ hearing isn’t too good!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment