Another week…

30 11 2009

The tail end of last week was somewhat poor, in terms of training. I ended up going out for some food and drinks on Thursday night for a work leaving do. I really wasn’t feeling up to much on Friday morning, so spinning got missed.

The rest of the weekend was then spent taking bits to the paint shop (where my beetle is being painted) and seeing friends. All of which took place between Leeds and Sheffield. Naturally, this meant that no riding got done!

So it’s back to Monday and I went to this gym this morning. Once again it was a session of squats, calf raises and leg extentions, followed by spinning.

I worked on my squat technique and feel much better about it now – I also upped the weight to 60kg quite happily. I don’t ache anywhere near as much as I did last week (yet!).

My primary driver for the resistance training here is to ensure I have a muscular balance in my legs. Cycling is quite specific in the muscles it uses (and avoids) and I don’t want any imbalances to affect my knees more than they already do. As such, much of the training is focusing on the vastus medialis, to support my patella.

I also bought Joe Freil’s “The Cyclist’s training bible” after hearing good things about it; So far so good!

I won’t update this daily, as it’s not that interesting, but I write progress every few days, for my record. 🙂


Actions

Information

Leave a comment